One Last Post for Club Penguin

Hello, everyone!

Club Penguin ends at 12:00am PST, on March 29th. At the time I am writing this post, we are several hours away from the server shutdown and a lot of emotions have been tossed around. In the past few weeks, I haven’t been able to truly express my thoughts on this situation and now I am able to dedicate some time to think about Club Penguin and what it has done for me.

On September 12th, 2008, I began my Club Penguin journey. Club Penguin was a decent trend at my junior school or a while, but the main reason I joined was because I was in search for an online virtual world to play on. My sister recommended Club Penguin to me as she heard it was fun to play from one of her closest friends. Dare I say, I had no idea what Club Penguin was back then, but I was very willing to give it a shot. 8 (and a bit) years later, it’s scary to think how life-changing that moment became and I was never aware of it until today.

A friend asked me recently what I would imagine life like without Club Penguin. So, I thought back to the very first day and imagined I continued and found another virtual world (like Moshi Monsters). Honestly, it is very difficult for me to think what my life would be right now because Club Penguin has actually been significantly impacted the way I have lived life since I was 7 years old. But I managed to come up with this…

“A life without Club Penguin (for me) would be like a half-baked cake. It’s obviously possible to live without this game, but no one likes a half-baked cake.”

I’m not a man of poetry, but I felt that this summed up my initial thoughts when I was asked this question. I cannot say that Club Penguin has kept me living because there are always alternatives in life. However, I do feel very relieved that I decided to stay with Club Penguin for a lot of my childhood. I know that my life has changed in a positive way and that is what matters.

I would like to dedicate this post to the Club Penguin team – every single person who has contributed to the game (former staff or current). If any of you are reading this, I would like to thank you individually. Club Penguin is not just something that comes from one person. It may have been created by 3 incredible people, but every baby needs to be nurtured and supported. The amount of success that has been generated from this game was born through teamwork, dedication, effort and hard work. Club Penguin has changed millions of lives and has brought fortune to the less fortunate. Club Penguin has been a wise teacher of many lessons as well. It has taught us to be respectful in society and that has had a positive impact on the way we live our lives.

Club Penguin isn’t just a game either, nor a team or a community. Club Penguin is something indescribable. I am just forever grateful that Club Penguin has existed for over 11 years. Therefore, I am quite devastated that it ends in several more hours. However, only the game dies tonight. This sad event is only necessary as it helps Club Penguin to live on through other mediums. I totally understand and respect this decision. Hopefully, Club Penguin Island will receive the support it deserves.

Thank you to every single person who works or has worked for Club Penguin. I am just one of millions of penguins who are truly grateful for the amazing things you have done for us. Not only have you created a successful game; you have created a masterpiece.

Waddle On Poster 2.png

Your tremendous effort has created one of the best communities in the world. Thousands of penguins have been inspired by you. Club Penguin has dominated our lives!

This is my last, proper post dedicated to Club Penguin. In the future, I am not too sure on what I will focus my blog on. I have been thinking a lot about alternative routes to take this year. One big change I am definitely considering, however, is ending The Blue Blog’s journey. I am not too sure when this will happen, but I think it is time for me to try new things. I have always been passionate about blogging so this will not lead to the end of my blogging career. I still haven’t made a final decision, but I will let you know in the future.

Furthermore, thank you to the Club Penguin community! Thank you for being there for the team and me, personally. You have been really supportive to me and my blog, along with my various projects and it is so comforting to know that there are people who are there for you.

Thank you for reading and, as always…

Waddle On!

Blue21102

9 thoughts on “One Last Post for Club Penguin

  1. Hey, Blue, if you’re still reading the comments, I know somewhere you could go if you end your blogging journey.

    Ever heard of this website called… Fanfiction?

Leave a comment